Board Of Directors

Aidspan’s Board of Directors has seven members:

  • Ida Hakizinka, Chair (
    Permanent Secretary, Rwanda CCM; senior official, Rwanda Ministry of Health; formerly, Coordinator of the Management Unit handling all Global Fund projects in Rwanda; formerly, Economist, Rwanda Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning. Rwanda citizen, based in Rwanda.

  • Dr. James Deutsch

    Director, Africa Program, Wildlife Conservation Society, responsible for over 1,000 staff in Africa; formerly CEO of the leading UK NGO involved in raising and disbursing funds for AIDS. Openly HIV-positive. US/UK dual citizen, based in New York.

  • Lucy Ng'ang'a
    Formerly Executive Director, Eastern African National Networks of AIDS Service Organisations, EANNASO. Kenya citizen, based in Tanzania.

  • Professor Alan Whiteside
    Founder and Executive Director of the Health Economics and HIV/AIDS Research Division at the University of KwaZulu-Natal in Durban and the CIGI Chair in Global Health Policy at the Balsillie School of International Affairs and a holds a Chair at Wilfrid Laurier University in Waterloo Canada..

  • Fiona Napier
    Former Associate Director of Global Witness, International Advocacy Director of Open Society Foundation, and  advocacy director and programme director for Save the Children, UK.  Based in Nairobi, Kenya.

  • Isaac Awuondo
    Group Managing Director, Commercial Bank of Africa, Based in Nairobi, Kenya.

  • JIA Ping
    Human Rights Lawyer, Founder & CEO of Health Governance Initiative, based in Beijing,China.

  • Aidspan’s Executive Director, ex officio

Aidspan has two 2-day board meetings per year. Board members are not paid for their work.