Nominations Committee Formed for Recruitment of the Next Inspector General

28 Mar 2013

The Global Fund Board has established an Ad Hoc Nominations Committee (AHNC) to assist the Board with the recruitment of the next Inspector General (IG), and has appointed seven persons to serve on the committee. These decisions were taken by electronic vote and announced on 15 March.

The seven persons are Gabor Amon and Wendy Harrison, both independent members on the Audit and Ethics Committee; Aida Kurtovic and Navin Rughoonunun, both nominated by the Board’s implementer bloc; Jan Paehler and Timothy Ziemer, both nominated by the Board’s donor bloc; and Galina Mikhlin-Oliver, from the World Bank.

All AHNC members will serve in their personal capacity.

As per the operating procedures for the Board and its committees: After reviewing the candidates for the IG position, the AHNC will send the names of shortlisted candidates directly to the Board. The Board asked the AHNC to ensure that candidates are assessed by the AHNC for potential conflicts of interest before they are included on the shortlist.

The goal is to enable the Board to make the appointment at its next meeting on 18–19 June. This deadline would be extended only if it was felt that the timeline was too tight to permit a transparent and appropriate selection process.

Information for this article was taken from Board Decision B28/EDP/12 and Board Paper B28/ER/09. These documents are not available on the Global Fund website.

Share |

Leave a comment

Leave a comment